LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 Old 03-08-2013, 08:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 7
Can radio be upgraded to satellite?

It was possible to dealer-swap the radio in my Dodge Caliber to a factory radio with satellite radio and included the installation of the factory satellite radio antenna and I'm wondering if my basic AM/FM/Sync radio in my 2013 Escape S can be replaced by an AM/FM/Sync/Satellite radio? I know there isn't a 'Sirius' button on the dash but I can live with that since one of the existing buttons would take on that function (I can tell because the satellite radio buttons number the same as the buttons for the non-satellite radio so one of the other buttons assumes the function of the button that switches to satellite function).
donsmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-08-2013, 09:09 PM
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 4,315
Garage
You will still need the receiver and antenna built in, which is normally factory.. You may have better luck with a plug in play at this point.
pilotattitude is offline  
#3 Old 03-10-2013, 08:25 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Yes, swap the radio with one with the built in radio. Antenna and wiring harness may be needed too.

Thanks
Dgulia
Dgulia is offline  
#4 Old 03-10-2013, 08:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 11
wondering the same thing...would like to do the same thing in the future but would rather it be swapped than plug and play option...might have to call the dealer on this one...
Escaper is offline  
#5 Old 03-11-2013, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 34
Don't be so sure that one of the buttons would start working for the satellite. All the newer cars are CAN based and behave more like a computer network. The button might look the same and be in the same spot but could have a different address.

Your best bet is probably a local car audio store - Best Buy 'might' work but they've been generally pretty awful on figuring out how the new stuff works in my experience. Look for a good car audio shop that specializes in car audio. The local shop to me also does remote start kits if you don't already have one of those.
p38fln is offline  
#6 Old 03-12-2013, 01:05 PM
Member
 
someguyinnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 44
I agree with going to a reputable audio shop. It is a safer bet over "Best Buy Audio"

They could try to retrofit a XM radio unit in the car or maybe even get it to work with the stock unit.
someguyinnyc is offline  
#7 Old 03-12-2013, 02:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 4,315
Garage
I believe like the onyx radio, its fed thru the 12v instead of the fm transmitter or being hardwired.
pilotattitude is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary glitch or potential problem? (Radio didn't turn off) Clashmore Mike Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 2 05-01-2013 12:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On