LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
MFT reboot & update

Hi, today I took my ride on a cross country trip NY to PA, stretch out her legs.

I started with out bout 800 mi. and drop in about 70 mph

this is what I took note of, I was getting about 26 mpg, but settled somewhere around 24. I am travelling with my wife and toddler somewhat packed truck, and driving thru some weather. Its an 2.0 4WD

Second I noticed as I was midway thru travel using the MFT, with the GPS active. that my radio stopped, then the whole screen went black. No buttons or anything will work, I took the next rest stop and as I was pulling off the system rebooted. This is the second time this happened to me, but the first time while I was taking directions from the GPS. Not cool to say the least.

FE, handled superbly as well as I expected through this weather.

Oh, and 1 more thing that I can contribute so far on this trip. I took my gas tank to E, today pretty much till I got the dummy light. still stating 44 miles to empty. However, I filled up and call I can get into the tank was 11 gallons. Now correct my math, but for something I was getting bout 18-20mpg, now @ empty its telling me that I will consume 10mpg. Questions comments are welcomed.. I do have an appt. this coming Friday to answer the gas fill up issue.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
Trip from PA-NY back home

About an hour into the trip, I was doing well and on I-76, then it started getting lost, missed a called turn off, when it caught up, it had me get off the interstate took me through neighborhoods, and then got lost again. I stopped the vehicle, canceled the route and reloaded, it re-captured me, and gave me directions back to I76, from then I was doing fine, until I was just outside Philly, as I was bout to do the exchange and hop onto I95 the radio stopped playing, the screen froze, and the whole MFT shutdown, in about a minute, rebooted, music then the reboot ( "preforming system scheduled maintenance") came back on then everything was back to normal. Also want to mention that I called services, was trying to get a traffic update, and for 2.5 min. it couldn't find me, it finally asked me what city I was in.

Traveling bout 70mph most of the trip (Cruise when possible), was obtaining about 24.5 mpg on average.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
MyFord Touch Problems? Consider this "Reboot" Workshop... - Ford Tech Lane

I may try this if dealership gives me the " I cannot replicate the issue, routine"

Since the introduction of MyFord Touch more than a year ago, some owners have experienced issues with the system. Although not an “overall fix-it solution” there is at least one way to help reset the system and get it back on track to functioning better.
This is a general system “reboot.” This procedure varies from what is suggested in the Owner’s Manual, but it accomplishes the same thing. Both procedures require the owner to open things up to remove and replace things… but with this process, it seems a little easier to do.
I work with people every day with the Ford Sync system. I have discovered there are a number of people with issues with their Ford MyFord Touch system. The MyFord Touch was offered in some of the 2011 and 2012 Edge, Explorer and some Focuses. The system uses Bluetooth to allow your phone to “project” its functions through the vehicle. Bluetooth is what it is, it’s a low power short range way to connect devices wirelessly. Often the system can get out of phase and cause connection problems. Here’s what you can do to set things back to normal…
The “Reboot” Procedure: With your vehicle off, open the hood. Loosen the bolt holding the black battery cable clamp assembly and remove it from the battery for about one minute or more. Then replace it and retighten the clamp. Close the hood.
Return to your vehicle and start it up. Let the vehicle run for at least four or five minutes. You may see the MyFord Touch screen show the a progress screen showing that the system is “rebooting.” Allow the reboot procedure to finish and let the system runs for a few minutes to make sure everything comes back “online.” This reboots the electrical system from factory specs. Turn off the vehicle again, open the door (this completely powers down the vehicle) and then restart the vehicle. Within a new minutes the system should be functioning normally again. Of course, if this process doesn’t work, then please, go visit your Ford or Lincoln Service Department.
The MyFord or MyLincoln Touch system uses an interface module that works kinds of like an automated traffic signal light. It tries to let the onboard computer receive and send commands between the voice system to the various “departments” (such as phone, media, navigation, climate, Sirius and so on). Sometimes the touch screen moves at such a slower rate that it causes the system to slow down or “freeze.” A “freeze” results in a black screen as the system tries to self-reboot. This is why the manual “reboot” with the battery cable helps.
The alternate “Reboot” Procedure: As described in many online Forums, this process calls for you to turn off the vehicle, find the fuse box, and (refer to the manual please) remove the fuse for the MyFord Touch/Sync system, and, after a short while, replace the fuse, close up the fuse box and restart the vehicle. I would check with the syncmyride.com website before attempting this procedure. Briefly removing the black battery cable clamp is an alternate way to reboot as compared to “pulling the fuse.” Of course, it is highly recommended for an owner to visit their ford or Lincoln Service Department.
Doing the manual reboot (by temporarily removing the black battery cable clamp) may result in the radio resetting to AM, or the clock resetting to 12:00, but those items can be easily reset. Just go to the Menu button to find and reset the clock information.
Ford has been conducting the beta test for the software system upgrade since mid-Dec. 2011. In the next few months all MyFord Touch and MyLincoln Touch owners will receive a USB drive with instructions on reinstalling the operating system. For those with the SD card based navigation system, you will get a new SD card as well (since the upgrade affects interfacing with the navigation system). Owners can do the self-installation, or take the material to their Ford or Lincoln dealer to do the installation.
I briefly used the beta test and found that the graphics are easier to read, the voice system seems to work more easily and the touch screen interaction is way, way better. So look for a better solution coming to your dashboard soon.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
mnlauzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 966
Have you figured out the problem? My touch system seems to be working fine.
mnlauzon is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnlauzon View Post
Have you figured out the problem? My touch system seems to be working fine.
So far I was just told its a system glitch


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-14-2013, 11:38 AM
Junior Member
 
HFord57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
I am the author of the answer Es-Cah-Pay used above. I am a Sync Specialist and I work with people every day. The black screen seems like it could be a result of a system overload. It's intensive for the microprocessors to constantly be running graphics, turn-by-turn directions, as well as be integrated with other components in a MyFord Touch system. I would question if Es-Cah-Pay has the most recent software update for MyFord Touch. And, does he have the A-4 SD card? Just some questions...
HFord57 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-14-2013, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
I had picked up the FE on 2.23.13,
Sync VersionGen2 - V3.5.1 is the version I am running


A4 is the SD card thats in the system


Confirmed installations
DA5T-14D546-AF

DA5T-14F496-AF

DA5T-14F497-AF

DA5T-14F657-AG


Both times it happened was roughly 1-2 hours into the trip though the second time was with erratic and incorrect GPS capture, before going to the black screen.

I had performed per Sync Specialist 1 Master reset 2 days into owning the FE, due to the setting (Lines, centerline, turning) in the Reverse camera kept turning off. As well as last night, I was backing into my driveway using the Camera it momentarily flipped to the home screen as I was backing in, before switching back to the camera. So far only once has the settings been an issue since the reset.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-15-2013, 09:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Quick Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotattitude View Post
MyFord Touch Problems? Consider this "Reboot" Workshop... - Ford Tech Lane

I may try this if dealership gives me the " I cannot replicate the issue, routine"

Since the introduction of MyFord Touch more than a year ago, some owners have experienced issues with the system. Although not an “overall fix-it solution” there is at least one way to help reset the system and get it back on track to functioning better.
This is a general system “reboot.” This procedure varies from what is suggested in the Owner’s Manual, but it accomplishes the same thing. Both procedures require the owner to open things up to remove and replace things… but with this process, it seems a little easier to do.
I work with people every day with the Ford Sync system. I have discovered there are a number of people with issues with their Ford MyFord Touch system. The MyFord Touch was offered in some of the 2011 and 2012 Edge, Explorer and some Focuses. The system uses Bluetooth to allow your phone to “project” its functions through the vehicle. Bluetooth is what it is, it’s a low power short range way to connect devices wirelessly. Often the system can get out of phase and cause connection problems. Here’s what you can do to set things back to normal…
The “Reboot” Procedure: With your vehicle off, open the hood. Loosen the bolt holding the black battery cable clamp assembly and remove it from the battery for about one minute or more. Then replace it and retighten the clamp. Close the hood.
Return to your vehicle and start it up. Let the vehicle run for at least four or five minutes. You may see the MyFord Touch screen show the a progress screen showing that the system is “rebooting.” Allow the reboot procedure to finish and let the system runs for a few minutes to make sure everything comes back “online.” This reboots the electrical system from factory specs. Turn off the vehicle again, open the door (this completely powers down the vehicle) and then restart the vehicle. Within a new minutes the system should be functioning normally again. Of course, if this process doesn’t work, then please, go visit your Ford or Lincoln Service Department.
The MyFord or MyLincoln Touch system uses an interface module that works kinds of like an automated traffic signal light. It tries to let the onboard computer receive and send commands between the voice system to the various “departments” (such as phone, media, navigation, climate, Sirius and so on). Sometimes the touch screen moves at such a slower rate that it causes the system to slow down or “freeze.” A “freeze” results in a black screen as the system tries to self-reboot. This is why the manual “reboot” with the battery cable helps.
The alternate “Reboot” Procedure: As described in many online Forums, this process calls for you to turn off the vehicle, find the fuse box, and (refer to the manual please) remove the fuse for the MyFord Touch/Sync system, and, after a short while, replace the fuse, close up the fuse box and restart the vehicle. I would check with the syncmyride.com website before attempting this procedure. Briefly removing the black battery cable clamp is an alternate way to reboot as compared to “pulling the fuse.” Of course, it is highly recommended for an owner to visit their ford or Lincoln Service Department.
Doing the manual reboot (by temporarily removing the black battery cable clamp) may result in the radio resetting to AM, or the clock resetting to 12:00, but those items can be easily reset. Just go to the Menu button to find and reset the clock information.
Ford has been conducting the beta test for the software system upgrade since mid-Dec. 2011. In the next few months all MyFord Touch and MyLincoln Touch owners will receive a USB drive with instructions on reinstalling the operating system. For those with the SD card based navigation system, you will get a new SD card as well (since the upgrade affects interfacing with the navigation system). Owners can do the self-installation, or take the material to their Ford or Lincoln dealer to do the installation.
I briefly used the beta test and found that the graphics are easier to read, the voice system seems to work more easily and the touch screen interaction is way, way better. So look for a better solution coming to your dashboard soon.
Is it fair to assume that an update is going to be made available to owners sometime by Summer 2013? I just picked up a 2013 Escape Titanium, and have had some wonky MFT issues as well. Random reboots where all I get on the main screen is a Sync/Microsoft logo for half and hour followed by a 'Performing Scheduled Maintenance' progress bar. I'm curious if these glitches are currently being tackled over in Detroit.
mapajegio is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-15-2013, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
pilotattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Isle, NY
Posts: 5,378
Garage
Dealer used their machine to do a master reset. No prob other than having to put all sat stations, phone info back in. I'll let you know so far all is well


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Hey, look. "Esc-a-pay". Hey, it's spelled just like escape


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pilotattitude is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MyFord Touch Update alan_mac Ford Escape General Discussion 1 01-13-2013 11:26 PM
Ford says Software Update Will Fix Engine Fires AutoGuide.com New 2013/2014/2015/2016/2017 Ford Escape News 1 12-11-2012 03:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome