2013 / 2014 / 2015 Ford Escape Forum

2013 / 2014 / 2015 Ford Escape Forum (http://www.fordescape.org/forum/)
-   Engine and Technical Discussion (http://www.fordescape.org/forum/engine-technical-discussion/)
-   -   Gas Additive (http://www.fordescape.org/forum/engine-technical-discussion/4938-gas-additive.html)

SBP2013 08-24-2013 08:34 AM

Gas Additive

I have been using STP Gas Treatment since my 2000 Ford Taurus. I could not really tell you if it does anything but like a blanket for a kid it provides me some comfort. Is this something that can be added to the 1.6 Escape engine? Since it is a turbo wasn't sure to use it.

Thanks

DKazoroski 08-24-2013 11:27 AM

All car manufacturers say their vehicles will run just fine on fuel right out of the pump. They also recommend against using any additives. I'd go with their advice.
Personally, I'll run a bottle of Techron fuel system cleaner through my cars about once a year or so.

nylyon 08-24-2013 01:02 PM

The only additive I would use in the Escape would be a fuel stabilizer if the car is going to sit for any period of time. While they would have to prove that the additive caused any issues, there are cases where warranty work is denied based on things like this.

I wouldn't worry too much about additives in a new car anyway.

my2cents 08-24-2013 03:23 PM

I don't see why it would hurt the turbo. But I don't have any experience with fuel or oil additives. I think they're a waste of money. So why use it. Throw that old security blanket away.

jshel101 08-25-2013 07:58 PM

The manual says not to add any fuel additives. I usually go with what the manual says on new vehicles.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

2013_escape 08-26-2013 05:43 PM

Buy top tier fuel and you will never need additive or injector cleaner.

chris1450 09-02-2013 11:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2013_escape (Post 56850)
Buy top tier fuel and you will never need additive or injector cleaner.