LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-31-2016, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

Cool Greetings Fellow Escapists!

Newbie here. I have joined FordEscape.ogr in hopes of learning about the car that I am interested in buying! Presently, I drive a VW Jetta TDI. You may have heard that VW in embroiled in a scandal around this injected diesel vehicle. I am in the process of taking advantage of the mfr's BuyBack, which should be completed by this Fall, hopefully in the next couple of months. The TDI has been reliable and fun to drive - even though mine's a Wagon, because I carry a lot of stuff for work. I have, however, been constantly amazed at how expensive, complicated and OverEngineered those German engineers have made this car!

Anyway, my main interest is in the Ford Escape SE, with the 1.6L ecoboost because I want good gas mileage AND I would love to be able to tow a small Pop-up camper on a cross country trip (once) and occasionally on more local camping trips. Now, I know this may sound like a tall order for a 1.6 liter engine, but I'm looking at folding tent campers that will be close to 1000lbs max. and the Escape I want is tow rated at 2000lb.

So there it is: Do any of you Escape lovers have the 1.6 SE and do you also use it for towing? I would appreciate any input on this, and will be cruising the Forum for related posts. Please send links if you know of any. BTW: I'm looking at Used Escapes just two or three years old with low mileage.

I'll update my profile when I find and purchase my Newsed car. THANKS!

Also: Which forum should I search for this towing topic?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-31-2016, 09:20 AM
Super Moderator

Garage
Welcome to the forum. You can search the towing section of this forum for towing with the Escape. There is a lot of information here on towing. When you do find a thread, please post any more questions you may have in one of the existing threads.

2014 Ruby Red Titanium 2.0 AWD