2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
22 Escape Titanium PHEV +Tow
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. I just bought the 2022 Escape Titanium PHEV.

When I first received the car 4 weeks ago, I was getting approximately 61km (38 miles) of range every day. The engine would kick in with around 4km's left on my drive home which was great. The average temperature those first 3 weeks was 18C (63F). This week the temp is closer to 8C (46F), but the morning temp in my garage is still 16C (61F).

Last week I drove to work one morning, and when I got there it showed that I had 28km (17 miles) left, then when I got back in the car at the end of the day, the range showed 17km (11 miles) left and this proved to be accurate as the engine kicked in 9km earlier then it normally had. Since that big drop on that day, it has been getting progressively worse. I now get approximately 52km's (32 miles) out of the battery, and it seems to be dropping every couple of days by 0.5km. When I first got the car, a full charge was around 61km, now a full charge is 52km. It hasn't gotten that cold, especially not in the garage. I drive with the seat heaters off, the climate control system is at 19C (66F), and the app shows I'm over 96% regularly with my driving/braking habits. I understand that the efficiency will be less in cold weather due to having to heat the car, seats, etc., but this seems like a big drop. 15% loss in 4 weeks and a 10C drop in temp. I live in Ontario and will have much colder weather this winter and am wondering if i will have any battery life by that time if it continues to drop like this.

My question: Is this normal with others experience or could there be a battery issue. It's seems to have started that day when I lost that 11km range while it was parked at work.

Thanks,

· Registered
22 Escape Titanium PHEV PP+Tow
244 Posts