2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
The battery needs to be heated in cold weather. How does the battery heat up in Ford Escape in cold weather?
Thank you for your answers

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Don't know where you got this, the battery does not need to be heated.
HEV battery heating
Thank you but If possible, search for the hev battery heating. There is a lot of content. There are two types of heating, internal and external. I think that in Ford Escape, the heating is of the internal battery type.

·
Registered
Persian Green 2020 Escape Ti Hybrid
2,750 Posts
Actually the low pressure battery cooling system is to cool the pack, not warm it.
I've been driving Hybrids for close to 10 years and the manufacturers' concern has always been to cool the battery, not warm it.
The OP needs to post some links for this, a Google search on his phrase comes back with theoretical articles rather than any manufacturer actually doing this.

·
Registered
105 Posts
the actual flow of electrons serves to warm up lithium batteries. Lithium batteries don't like cold, with lithium replacement cranking batteries for motorcycles, when its cold you have to turn on the ignition (headlight) for five minutes so the lithium battery will warm up enough for it to produce enough amps for it to start. with the hybrid escape using only electric for revers gear I can see them not wanting to back up when first turned on. I can't shake this feeling I have heard something about a battery heater circuit someplace. it may have been for the tesla.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Actually the low pressure battery cooling system is to cool the pack, not warm it.
I've been driving Hybrids for close to 10 years and the manufacturers' concern has always been to cool the battery, not warm it.