2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I am not an expert on your car. I am providing this "how-to" solely as a contributing member on this board and cannot guarantee your results nor do I accept any responsibility for improperly following my procedures or resulting in broken parts. The outlining steps herein are based only on my personal experience in the matter. Perform this procedure at your own risk.

Now, contrary to popular belief, the factory D3S HID bulbs DO NOT twist out clockwise or counterclockwise. Let's just put that to rest right now. Instead, the bulbs are attached to a bracket and two (2) T10 torx/star key screws hold them on to the headlight assembly.

Here are the required/recommended tools:

In order to provide the best "how-to" possible, I removed the headlight assemblies to get a better look.

Here are the locations of the screws that need to be removed in order to take the headlight assembly off:

Engine bay; Top view, Passenger side:

Engine bay, Top view, Passenger side, close-up front:

The lower T30 headlight screws are a PITA to access and remove. You have to jack up the vehicle, remove the wheels, remove the wheel well liner, and maneuver the 1/4" drive ratchet with the bit holder and T30 bit into very tight quarters. There's maybe 4" between the head of the screw and the fender. Once I 'broke the screw loose' with the ratchet and T30 bit, I used a dime (10 cent piece) to undo it the rest of the way (yes, there's a slot in the screw head, too)... took about 20 minutes to remove the passenger side (horns take up space), and 10 minutes on the driver side: