2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2022 Escape SE PHEV
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After 1 year and 5 days with my 2022 Escape SE PHEV, I have driven it a total of 9840 miles. My driving was divided between 6904 miles of plug-in electric operation (70.2%) and 2936 miles of gas/hybrid operation (29.8%). Most of my gas/hybrid driving occurred on two long road trips totaling about 2000 miles.

I like numbers and statistics because I am an engineer by training, so I have maintained a full log of my fuel purchases and plug-in electric usage. The car used 79.35 gal of gasoline during the year for an average fuel economy of 37 mpg in gas/hybrid operation. The overall fuel economy based upon total miles driven was 124 mpg. I obtained and tabulated the "charge added (%)" information from the charge logs in the FordPass app and found that I did the equivalent of 186 full charges during the year for an average electric range of 37.1 miles on a full charge. I also use a "Kill a Watt" brand meter to measure my 120V electric usage at the wall outlet. My PHEV used 2299 kWh of electricity during the year, or an average of about 12.36 kWh for a full charge.

During the past year, the average price of gasoline in my area was about $3.70/gal, and my electric price was about $0.107/kWh. So in the first year with my Escape PHEV, I paid $294 for gasoline and $246 for electricity, for a total operating cost of $540. My Escape replaced a 2002 Honda Accord with a fuel economy of about 26.5 mpg. If I had continued driving my Accord, it would have required 371 gal of gasoline costing about $1373. My Escape PHEV therefore saved me about $833 in operating costs during the past year and also reduced my tailpipe emissions by 79%.

It's sad that Ford can't produce more of these PHEVs, because they are very practical and efficient vehicles. I am very lucky that my Escape was ordered and delivered before the 2022 surge in gas prices.

· Registered
15 Posts