2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This post is my real world experience comparing 2020 FE vs 2020 Highlander (same on 2019+ Rav4) Dynamic Cruise Control and Lane Keep/Centering Assist features. FYI I will be referring to DCC and LKA even though the naming maybe a bit different between the two. For the record I put about 20k miles with Toyota's DCC and LKA and just under 1k miles with Ford Escape. Although I am still learning Ford's behavior I could tell immediately Ford's acts aggressively at times where Toyota approach is more conservative.

Dynamic Cruise Control (DCC)

Ford:
  • Holds speed when going down the hill with no car ahead of you
  • Accelerates faster or more natural from a complete stop
  • 4 bars of adjustment in terms of length
  • Comes to a complete stop a bit too close for my liking regardless of the bar setting
  • Doesn't stop if the car ahead is fully stopped (I haven't figured if it's also speed dependent but it's generally nature of the beast)
Toyota:
  • Does not hold speed when going down the hill with no car ahead of you
  • Accelerates very slow from a complete stop
  • 3 bars of distance adjustments, can't get too close even with 1 bar
  • In stop and go traffic allows for too much space in between of cars (haven't tested in FE)
  • Comes to a complete stop too far out but I prefer that
  • Doesn't stop if the car ahead is fully stopped unless it's under 30 miles, but it does apply emergency brake which happened to me when I thought it would stop
Lane Keep Assist (LKA)

Ford:
  • Handles curves better and feels more confident with staying in the lane
  • Aggressive with steering at times, I haven't looked if there is a setting, but it certainly much quicker to react
  • You can feel choppy micro adjustments, but it's not a deal breaker
  • Pleasant beeps
Toyota: