2013+ Ford Escape Forum banner
81 - 100 of 112 Posts

·
Registered
Sunset 2014 Escape Ti 2.0 Persian Green 2020 Escape Ti Hybrid
Joined
·
1,566 Posts
Remember to set your baud rate to auto in Forscan with the ODBLink EX/MX/MX+.
Otherwise the port might only get opened at 9600 baud.
It won't matter if you are just reading or clearing codes, if you're performing extended functions you'll notice a lag.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I posted this in 2fusion forum but its for my ford escape 2015 so I am reposting it here.


I don't know anything about forscan but when I installed my Sync 2 to Sync 3 it came with elm 327 out of curiosity I downloaded the forscan program and read the log. Here is the information. How should I correct the error? aside from reading whole bunch of documentation. I was hoping somebody here that is proficient with forscan can be able to help. I tried goggling the error but doesn't understand. Is this error normal after upgrading sync 2 to sync 3?

Thanks

(WARN) [10:58:35.490] Checking Bluetooth (64:FF:0A:85:B9:67)...
(WARN) [10:58:57.165] Checking FTDI #1:A50285BI...
(OK) [10:59:02.224] Connection to adapter has been established: FTDI #1:A50285BI
(OK) [10:59:02.224] Adapter: STN1170 v3.3.1 (ELM327 v1.3a)
(ERR) [10:59:02.232] This adapter uses counterfeit STN chip
(OK) [10:59:07.463] Connection to vehicle has been established
(OK) [10:59:08.585] Vehicle: Ford Escape/Kuga EcoBoost Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection 2.0L 2015 ( 2015 MY ), VIN: 1FM*********17790
(OK) [10:59:11.432] Found module: PCM - Powertrain Control Module
(OK) [10:59:30.769] Found module: OBDII - On Board Diagnostic II
(OK) [10:59:31.577] Found module: APIM - Accessory Protocol Interface Module
(WARN) [10:59:32.161] DTCs in APIM: B108E:12-08, B11BA:1C-08, B11BA:63-08, U0121:00-08, U0151:00-08, U0155:00-08, U0198:00-48, U0256:00-08, U0293:00-48, U0452:00-08, U2100:00-08, U2101:00-0B, U3000:41-08, U3003:17-08
(OK) [10:59:32.592] Found module: SASM - Steering Angle Sensor Module
(OK) [10:59:33.556] Found module: OCS - Occupant Classification System Module
(OK) [10:59:34.411] Found module: ABS - Antilock braking system
(OK) [10:59:36.153] Found module: RCM - Restraint Control Module
(WARN) [10:59:38.159] DTCs in RCM: U0140:00-28
(OK) [10:59:39.051] Found module: PAM - Parking Aid Module
(WARN) [10:59:39.519] DTCs in PAM: U0422:86-28
(OK) [10:59:40.512] Found module: HCM - Headlamp Control Module
(OK) [10:59:41.459] Found module: PSCM - Power Steering Control Module
(OK) [10:59:43.241] Found module: BdyCM - Body Control Module
(WARN) [10:59:45.528] DTCs in BdyCM: U1007:00-2F
(OK) [10:59:46.950] Found module: SODR - Side Obstacle Detection Control Module - Right
(OK) [10:59:49.256] Found module: SODL - Side Obstacle Detection Control Module - Left
(OK) [10:59:50.819] Found module: FCIM - Front Controls Interface Module
(WARN) [10:59:51.171] DTCs in FCIM: B13DC:13-08
(OK) [10:59:53.094] Found module: DSP - (Audio) Digital Signal Processing Module
(OK) [10:59:53.897] Found module: RGTM - Rear Gate/Trunk Module
(OK) [10:59:55.381] Found module: DSM - Driver's Seat Module
(WARN) [10:59:55.913] DTCs in DSM: B1B99:24-28
(OK) [10:59:56.446] Found module: PDM - Passengers Door Control Unit
(OK) [10:59:57.525] Found module: DDM - Drivers Door Module
(OK) [10:59:59.274] Found module: HVAC - Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning
(WARN) [11:00:00.415] DTCs in HVAC: U3006:16-28
(OK) [11:00:01.158] Found module: RFA - Remote Function Actuator
(OK) [11:00:02.989] Found module: ACM - Audio Control Module
(OK) [11:00:04.604] Found module: IPC - Instrument Panel Control Module
(OK) [11:00:05.878] Found module: GPSM - Global Positioning System Module
(WARN) [11:00:06.065] DTCs in GPSM: U3003:16-88
(OK) [11:01:14.616] Disconnected
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
260 Posts
First thing is it would appear you have a cheap ELM327. What make is it.

What make and model did the sync 3 screen come from. They are not just plug and play.

Did you take a back up or a screen shot of your sync 2 APIM settings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
First thing is it would appear you have a cheap ELM327. What make is it.

What make and model did the sync 3 screen come from. They are not just plug and play.

Did you take a back up or a screen shot of your sync 2 APIM settings.
Its a ebay seller from China. I didn't take a screen shot. Anyone here have a 2015 escape titanium that I can just copy the apim setting? My escape isa 2015 titanium. It was the top of the line at that time.
 

·
Super Moderator
2016 Kuga Titanium 2.0l EcoBoost
Joined
·
3,445 Posts
First thing is it would appear you have a cheap ELM327. What make is it.
Going by the error it's not an ELM 327 based device- it says "Adapter: STN1170 v3.3.1 .... counterfeit STN chip". The STN chip is what the OBDLink interfaces use, they're backwards compatible with the ELM commands. It shouldn't have the MS / HS bus issues or a switch. ( This says the real STN1170 is compatible with Ford MS CAN Bus.)

@tonsan have you tried clearing all the DTC's? They may come back but try that first.
 
  • Like
Reactions: smartguy69

·
Super Moderator
2016 Kuga Titanium 2.0l EcoBoost
Joined
·
3,445 Posts
You may also find useful info on this site F Hub
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Am sorry to tell I don't have experience with any of this. I just wanted the sync 3 for car play and there was a obd reader that came with the sync 3 update so I downloaded the forscan and it showed the DTC. Will holding the brake and gas firmly reset it ? I was able to reset the BSM using the forscan. It still show the same dtc error. Any one here have a escape 2015 titanium with navigator that I can copy the apim setting or asbuilt?Thanks for all the help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Am sorry to tell I don't have experience with any of this. I just wanted the sync 3 for car play and there was a obd reader that came with the sync 3 update so I downloaded the forscan and it showed the DTC. Will holding the brake and gas firmly reset it ? I was able to reset the BSM using the forscan. It still show the same dtc error. Any one here have a escape 2015 titanium with navigator that I can copy the apim setting or asbuilt?Thanks for all the help!
If I replace my sync 3 back to my sync 2 will I be able to get the asbuilt? then put back the sync 3 and upload it? Just wondering.

Thanks
 

·
Super Moderator
2016 Kuga Titanium 2.0l EcoBoost
Joined
·
3,445 Posts
there was a obd reader that came with the sync 3 update
So you bought a kit with all the parts- did they offer programming of them to suit your vehicle? Some sellers do.

Try searching the internet for "program sync3 sync2" and you'll get lots of hits with info on how to do it. I recall one guy from a Fusion forum has a website and will do it for a fee.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
260 Posts
So you bought a kit with all the parts- did they offer programming of them to suit your vehicle? Some sellers do.

Try searching the internet for "program sync3 sync2" and you'll get lots of hits with info on how to do it. I recall one guy from a Fusion forum has a website and will do it for a fee.
That would be DanMc85 on G2Fusion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: murcod

·
Registered
Joined
·
260 Posts
If I replace my sync 3 back to my sync 2 will I be able to get the asbuilt? then put back the sync 3 and upload it? Just wondering.

Thanks
Ok so the first thing you need to do if you are going to do any programming with Forscan is get yourself a decent OBD device. The OBDLink EX is recommended by Forscan and is quite cheap in your country. The second option is an ELM327 made by OHP. I wouldn't buy anything else at the price or less.

Getting your sync 3 screen on line 100% may be straight forward or it may not. Even if you get one programmed to your VIN it still may not work 100% but there are a few members now on the UK Kuga forum who have done it and have everything working as it should.

When sourcing a sync 3 screen it is advisable to get one from the same car, i.e. an Escape and where possible, one that is an identical model and spec. That's not going to be easy. What you have now is 3 options.

Option 1 - download the asbuilt file for your car from motorcraftservice.com and and either upload the APIM section to your car or input the settings manually exactly as they are written on motorcraft website.

Option 2 - find a car identical to yours, same model with exactly the same features as yours but was factory fitted with sync 3 and download the asbuilt file for that car and upload to yours.

Option 3 - Source DanMc85 on G2Fusion. he is an expert at sync 3 programming.

Note with options 1 and 2 there still may be one or two features that don't work 100% but these are easily sorted and there are plenty of people to help. Option 1 worked for one of our moderators on the UK Kuga site with a 2013 car. Option 2 has been done by other members. There isn't a set formula but I would start with using your sync 2 settings and see where you go from there.

Before you do any of the above, clear all the fault codes and see what comes back. The sync screen has permanent live and I noticed with mine when I removed it, it can log some codes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
2016 se. So far I've turned off the halogen drl's, changed sync 3 theme to Ford GT, enabled global open/close windows, turned off beltminder (doing it with forscan eliminated the red seatbelt light being on) and enabled Bambi mode. What I can't figure out is how to increase turn signal blinks. Every other vehicle does that with the steering column control module (SCCM). However, forscan does not list that as an available module for our escape. If anyone has any insight or was possibly able to do this with focccus that would be awesome as it's the last mod I want to make.
I have tried a dozen times to get the global windows to work on my 2016 se and no luck!!!! what procedure/setting did you use? also what does turning off the halogen drl's do? I have managed to change my themes, bambi and a few others but i can not for the life of me get the global windows to work!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
533 Posts
Has anyone figured out how to disable the specific cruise control function that downshifts going down hills (making the engine loud and wasting gas because I lose out on the free coast accelerating down the hill)?
I do not wish to disable any other auto-compensation functions like the brake being applied automatically when parking on a hill.
I only want to disable that one single cruise control option.
Maybe it's not even possible, but if you know about it or how to do it, please post back here. Thanks.
 

·
Super Moderator
2016 Kuga Titanium 2.0l EcoBoost
Joined
·
3,445 Posts
Has anyone figured out how to disable the specific cruise control function that downshifts going down hills (making the engine loud and wasting gas because I lose out on the free coast accelerating down the hill)?
If you've got your foot off the accelerator check the instantaneous fuel consumption. I think you'll find it's still using next to nothing in that situation.

FYI AFAIK you'd need to reprogram the PCM to change the auto transmission programming. Do a search for HPTuners on here, there's a thread where a member used their interface/ software to reprogram the auto trans behaviour.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
533 Posts
If you've got your foot off the accelerator check the instantaneous fuel consumption. I think you'll find it's still using next to nothing in that situation.

FYI AFAIK you'd need to reprogram the PCM to change the auto transmission programming. Do a search for HPTuners on here, there's a thread where a member used their interface/ software to reprogram the auto trans behaviour.
The downshifting on hills is more of a noise nuisance for people who live in that area as the engine screams to high RPM. I'd rather it just coast and accellerate down the hill with no gas. Older vehicles I've had never did that going down hills. I picked up speed, which saved fuel when going up the hill just after. I did not know I had to do transmission re-programing. Navigation is one thing, but a transmission change sounds a bit out of my league, LOL! My gut tells me that if I did change it, that it would disable nice features like auto-brake when shifting from a stop on a hill. I will take a look at the HPTuners page to check it out though. Thanks for the tip.
 

·
Registered
2013 SE AWD 2.0T
Joined
·
23 Posts
Hi Folks,

Wondering if anyone has managed to decipher the As-Built to enable Bambi mode (2013, Halogens)

For some bizarre reason I cannot get ForScan to load up the BCM (Main) Config screen - it seems to 'crash' with the error "Service Procedure has been interrupted"
simply cannot get it to load up.

I was going to try do it with FoCCCus but I haven't yet sussed the porting issue
I have a VeePeak ELM327 that won't seem to detect on the default COM3 port to connect (and I can't change the port/adapter setting)


I CAN however, modify the As-Built version of the BCM.
Tried lurking all the Forums - Fusion, Focus, F150 but none of their 726-xx-xx line up with my options, which range from 726-01-xx through to 726-05-xx (Fusion for example are 726-27-xx and F150s are 726-38-xx)
 

·
Registered
2013 SE AWD 2.0T
Joined
·
23 Posts
I was going to try do it with FoCCCus but I haven't yet sussed the porting issue
I have a VeePeak ELM327 that won't seem to detect on the default COM3 port to connect (and I can't change the port/adapter setting)
By some bizarre miracle, I swapped USB ports a few times on my laptop and FoCCCis managed to load up and read my BCM.
changed me Foglight setting from ‘US’ to Foglight and hit write… ELM error
Disconnected, reconnected and tried again
Success! Successfully enabled Bambi mode with FoCCCus.
Out of curiosity I loaded up ForScan. Still was unable to config the BCM Main (still crashing for unknown reason)
But I can confirm, when viewing the AsBuilt BCMs
Nothing has changed after enablng Bambi. All values are identical,
So Bambi cannot be activated by modifying BCM AsBuilt data.
(2013 SE, Canadian delivered)
 

·
Super Moderator
2016 Kuga Titanium 2.0l EcoBoost
Joined
·
3,445 Posts
By some bizarre miracle, I swapped USB ports a few times on my laptop and FoCCCis managed to load up and read my BCM.
changed me Foglight setting from ‘US’ to Foglight and hit write… ELM error
Disconnected, reconnected and tried again
Success! Successfully enabled Bambi mode with FoCCCus.
Be careful using FoCCCus with cheap ELM327 interfaces- you can end up bricking the vehicle from it crashing. The OBDLink range of interfaces (which use the STN chipset instead of the ELM327) are a lot more reliable and usually work perfectly with FoCCCus. ForScan isn't as fussy and even the cheap interfaces seem to work fine with it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: smartguy69
81 - 100 of 112 Posts
Top